What is European Individual Accreditation (EIA)?

The EIA is a Europe-wide recognised award which demonstrates an individual is practicing as a professional coach/mentor and they have the appropriate level of knowledge and the ability to apply it effectively in their coaching/mentoring practice. The EIA distinguishes four levels: Foundation, Practitioner, Senior Practitioner and Master Practitioner. It raises standards and professionalism in coaching/mentoring by:

  • Setting high standards in assessment criteria.
  • Measuring ability against our evidence-based competence framework.
  • Using reliable and rigorous assessment processes.
  • Demanding a professional, reflective approach.
  • Ensuring a commitment to continuing development.

What are the Benefits of EIA?

Having an EIA award distinguishes you as a professional coach/mentor, with sound underpinning knowledge and able to demonstrate ability against demanding and rigorous standards. Specifically it:

  • Provides users/buyers of coaching/mentoring services greater certainty of your competence and ability.
  • Raises your personal credibility and professional standing.
  • Demonstrates you are continually developing and always improving your coaching/mentoring ability.
  • Raises the credibility and standards of our profession.
  • Is more than a qualification - it recognises you are able to apply good practice in coaching/mentoring.
  • Provides a framework for your personal development.

Revised EIA (v2)

On June 15 2012 EMCC launched the revised European Individual Accreditation (EIA v2).

The philosophy of EMCC that the mentor/coach is a "reflective practitioner" remains at the heart of the EIA, ensuring a rigorous process that represents a valuable investment for mentors and coaches and label of quality excellence for their clients and sponsors.

The EIA v2 continues to distinguish between four levels:

Foundation ● Practitioner ● Senior Practitioner ● Master Practitioner

Major changes in the revised EIA v2 application process

  • Reduced fees
  • Reduced time to complete application
  • A structured interview (for most applicants)
  • Required use of the EMCC Competence Framework’s eight major competences, but not the related capability indicators
  • Recent EQA certificate holding applicants will not be asked to evidence again what their training has already assessed.

Further information and Next Steps

The EIA v2 application documentation is available for download from the side panel on the right of this page. Please first read the appropriate EIA Guide to Applying and EIA FAQs documents. If questions remain, feel free to contact the Accreditation Manager, Cara Crisler, at 

When you are ready to complete an application form send an email to the Accreditation Manager ( ) stating which level you are applying for - Foundation, Practitioner, Senior Practitioner or Master Practitioner. An invoice for the appropriate fee will then be sent to you. Upon receipt of payment EMCC will send out the appropriate application form via email.

How EIA and EQA Work Together

How EIA and EQA Work Together